top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLouisa Clary

Spreading Hope Among "Impending Doom": Covid-19 Early Treatment in Year 2 of the Pandemic

Updated: Apr 15, 2021

On March 29, my kids and I came home to watch the ten minute summary of Reuters news. My fourth grade son has enjoyed catching up on world affairs on the daily. Here was the clip of the US Center for Disease Control Director's warning that day of "impending doom":


I decided we would promptly turn off the news and go out into the community, but find a way to deliver a new message. We went to our local park, and it was a gorgeous day. My kids played on the playground while I walked the dog. I saw an extended family of five on a picnic blanket enjoying their baby. While I had Ivermectin on my mind, I was determined to not impose on their time together (if you have not heard of Ivermectin, it is an off-label medication some doctors are prescribing to treat Covid-19).

I circled around the park, saw them again and exchanged hellos as as they pet my dog. They were very friendly. As I continued walking, I felt guilty for not sharing with them. I was compelled to turn back around, no matter how embarrassed I was to ask my next question, “Does anyone you know have Covid or is struggling with it?”


You see, they happened to be a Black family. If you know this about Covid-19, people of color have a much higher rate of hospitalization because their pigmentation reduces Vitamin D production in the skin. Therefore, they have a higher chance of being Vitamin D deficient and ending up with more severe cases of Covid. As Dr. Pierre Kory, President of the Frontline Covid-19 Critical Care Alliance testified to the US Senate in December,"I have seen so many vibrant fathers and mothers of families die in my ICU. And most importantly, the majority are minorities, Black and Latinos, many of them poor and often without access to private doctors for early treatment." And later in a video by the FLCCC which focused on people of color and Covid-19, he stated, "It's the most severe discrepancy I have seen in my entire medical career."


Unfortunately, the CDC, the FDA, and the NIH have not been alerting Americans about the importance of Vitamin D in building immunity to help prevent infection.


The family let me know that knock on wood, no one had contracted Covid-19 yet. I let them know if they did get sick, that Ivermectin was being prescribed off-label, has 48 studies behind its' use for Covid-19 including 24 randomized controlled trials, and it had worked for several personal friends, but that only certain providers were using it for treatment.


They were new to town and they didn’t have a primary care provider yet. We happen to have a PCP already prescribing Ivermectin and an experienced hospitalist just opened his primary care practice this past week also offering Ivermectin to Covid-19 patients. They followed me on Facebook to check out the specific hospitals that also offered Ivermectin.

I am glad I took the leap to talk to strangers, and plan to do it again soon. My social fear is far less important than them knowing about Ivermectin. Now, if they get Covid-19, they will demand more from a doctor than just accepting orders to take fluids, rest and wait until they need hospitalization. They also won't end up in a hospital that will not provide it once admitted. Finding the doctors who are putting patients first and treating them for their suffering rather than blindly following public health guidelines is the new challenge for the average American that contracts Covid-19.

Instead of spreading the message of "impending doom", I challenge you to only spread the message of "impending hope" and offer solutions.


You can take in the alarm, check the daily variant statistics, and prepare your household for the next lockdown. Or you can let go of the fear, go into your community and spread hope and the good word of what is working for so many Americans today to help bring the pandemic to an end. The choice is yours.


******

👉Click top right to go to "Home" on the blog for more links and information.


Ivermectin is now prescribed off-label in all 50 states. For a doctor in the U.S. or worldwide, plus a list of U.S. hospitals using Ivermectin, you can find more info here: https://www.facebook.com/588426179/posts/10159504504201180/?d=n


Dr. Pierre Kory’s video on our most vulnerable—>People of Color & the Elderly


Vitamin D and African Americans

Susan S Harris. J Nutr. 2006 Apr.


Vitamin D Levels Tied to Covid-19 Risk for Black People: https://www.medpagetoday.com/infectiousdisease/covid19/91723


Vitamin D and Covid-19: an update on evidence and potential therapeutic implications


FLCCC Alliance Blasts WHO over Ivermectin Guidelines https://covexit.com/flccc-alliance-blasts-who-over-ivermectin-guideline/


Ivermectin Reduces Covid Mortality Rate by 81%. Also WHO: We still don't recommend it. https://tinyurl.com/333hwcvj





Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page